DXM preventing Adderall from working?

Discussion in 'Adderall' started by Manix, Jan 25, 2007.

1. Manix

Manix Newbie

Reputation Points:
    30 y/o
    Hey, I am relatively new to Adderall, I have been using it for two weeks tops, starting from 10MG of IR and titrating all the way up to 50MG because of the lack of effects. It worked at first, then didn't work, then did. I have been using NyQuil cold/flu once a night to help him sleep, however, it hasn't been working too well lately, which is normal for someone who's been using it on a daily basis. This morning, I took four 10MG IR Adderalls and crushed a fifth one and snorted it--anything to just have the Adderal work. To no avail. The adderall did nothing but make SWIM smell bad. I have only taken this high of a dose once before.

SWIM's question is, would the NyQuil he's been ingesting every night somehow stop the Adderall from working? Since the DXM in NyQuil is apparently a dopamine reuptake inhibitor, wouldn't it have the same effects of an SSRI on MDMA? I have been googling this for hours and has failed to find any account of this.

I have also been taking propoxyphene (Darvocet) daily for a few days now for pain. Could this have any potential bearing on the Adderall? I have read in his father's medical books that propoxyphene eliminates the metabolism of tricyclic antidepressants, which work by blocking the reuptake of norephenephrine, which is similar to dopamine--which leads SWIM to believe it could diminish the Adderall's effects, but then again I have little knowledge about this. Taking propoxyphene with Adderall is not recommended, but that's only because of the fact that overdosing on propoxyphene with Adderall with overstimulate the Central Nervous System (atleast from what SWIM's gathered). There's very little information about the interactions between Adderall and Darvocet.