Fast heartbeat with Adderall

Discussion in 'Adderall' started by gn2osis, Feb 12, 2006.

1. gn2osis

gn2osis Iridium Member

Reputation Points:
    from denmark
    I'm new to amphetamines, and managed to get an Rx for Adderall. I find it to be good stuff for my supposed ADHD, but am concerned that after 15 mg, my heartrate rises from 75 bpm to 90-110 bpm (considered tachycardia if over 100). I'm going to ask my doctor, but would appreciate input from any experienced users of Adderall or other amphetamines. How serious a sign is tachcardia? Is it possible that it eventually will go away as one's body gets used to the drug?

Last edited: Feb 14, 2006
  2. Nagognog2

Nagognog2 Iridium Member

Reputation Points:
    New warning labels are on the horizon in the USA for adderal, ritalin, and the other ADHD drugs. It has been noted that these can cause sudden-death in certain individuals. We had known this for some time, but now it is official. Be careful.

3. bcStoner420

bcStoner420 Silver Member

Reputation Points:
    After gaining tolerance to the drug you should lose any side effects or at least they will be much less noticable. At least this is what happens when I don't need my prescription for a while for whatever reason, and then I go back on it when I do need it again. Except for me the problem isn't heartrate so much (just because it doesn't bother me too much) though I do get it, my major problem is insomnia (the script is XR).

4. gn2osis

gn2osis Iridium Member

Reputation Points:
    from denmark
    Thanks, I'm going to be very careful and get my heart checked. It's great stuff on challenging days, no better way to motivate and focus and take the edge off fatigue, but it just doesn't feel like something that's very healthy to take routinely. Evil drug! No, wait, effective pharmaceutical!

Bummer re the insomnia -- can you get switched off XR? I'd rather be in charge of dosing myself than rely on an XR. Insomnia hasn't been a problem for me with the IR.