hooked on the needle

Discussion in 'Opiate & Opioid addiction' started by larak, Apr 8, 2005.

1. larak

larak Newbie

Reputation Points:
    Hi there. This is my first forum ever. I am a MSc student in the field of addictions and are wanting next year to do my PHD on needle fixation. I personally have been able to get opiate dependent friends into at least three days of withdrawal, yet some of them can not get over the want for the fit and will jump out of my window and inject water, ect. I have searched all available literture on this and have been unable to come up with any answers for this. Any experiences or answers would be much apprieciated. Thank you. Stay safe.

2. Motorhead

Motorhead Platinum Member & Advisor

Reputation Points:
    45 y/o from Canada
    Wow,a potential phd student with iv using friends, cool. fuck the literature, write your own. Sounds like u have your thesis right there before your eyes. The books dont have the answers to the questions you seek, i think your friends do. I think you are asking the reason why people are addicted to shit, not just the reason why people are addicted tothe spike.

Addiction is a ritual, addiction is a substitution for lust, addiction is a noose, addiction can sometimes be a whore, sometimes i can be a whore, addiction is the absence of everything you could possibly be. Stay safe?? Its easier not to be.

3. lolomgwtfbbq

lolomgwtfbbq Newbie

Reputation Points:
    I guess it's just the addiction to the general situation.

I know people who are recovered addicts & they all pick up new
    things to do. One person I know makes necklaces and she sneaks out to
    the craft store & buys beads and hides them from her husband
    because she got so used to that behavior when she was using.

When I quit smoking for a while, I would always notice myself 'packing'
    random things that were even slightly rectangular shaped and holding
    pens/pencils just like cigarettes and sucking on them just like I was