Question - How long should I stop smoking for?

Discussion in 'Cannabis' started by RS96, Jun 7, 2017.

1. RS96

RS96 Newbie

Reputation Points:
    from Michigan, United States
    Ok, so here's the deal.

I've been smoking everyday since my senior year of high school - going on 4 years now. I started off smoking a bowl or two at night, but after I graduated I quickly started smoking all day, everyday. After about a year of doing this I stopped getting high, but couldn't not smoke because basically, I needed it to function.

When I met my ex-boyfriend 2 1/2 years ago, he introduced me to dabbing and that quickly became my go-to way to smoke. Even when I dabbed though it wasn't like I was getting high - just like a buzz sort of.

Anyway, I finally found the willpower to take a T break and I'm going on a week clean. My question is - how long do you think I should break so that I can get high again? A month? Two months?

2. aemetha

aemetha Sexy Potato Palladium Member Donating Member

Reputation Points:
    from New Zealand
    I've read some studies on tolerance (not cannabis specifically, but some of the mechanisms involved are similar) that suggest that tolerance is not a single phenomenon, but rather something that happens via a few different mechanisms that each have a varying duration. As an example, one of the identified tolerance mechanism is less physiological and more psychological insofar as people psychologically adjust to getting high. The chemical effect on the brain with regard to this particular aspect is irrelevant, because it's not that the person isn't high, it's just that they don't really notice because it has become normalised. Resetting this kind of tolerance varies by individuals, but around 6 weeks is probably when you'll begin to notice an effect.