Combinations - How much quinine with codeine

Discussion in 'Codeine' started by greenery, Oct 7, 2016.

1. greenery

greenery Silver Member Newbie

Reputation Points:
    from Ireland
    Hello everyone, I have a question regarding quinine (from tonic water) and codeine.

First off, I love codeine and use it on a regular daily base, sometimes up to three times in 24 hours. I've been doing this for about 18 months and have thankfully avoided a significant tolerance from developing by using potentiators most nights, although once every 10 days or so it's codeine by itself. The potentiators I use are promethazine, zopiclone, xanax, pregabalin, alcohol very rarely, and quinine.

My question here is about quinine and how much of it is needed to significantly potentiate codeine. I don't have access to quinine in pill form, and therefore I drink tonic water to get the quinine into me. I understand that the mechanism of quinine is that it induces the CYP2D6 enzyme, which is responsible for the metabolism of codeine into morphine, and by inducing this enzyme more of a codeine dose gets converted by the body into morphine, hence an even nicer opiate bliss! I've personally tried this combo many times and find that although the high was more pronounced, it was only a little bit better.

What I do is drink a litre of tonic water throughout my codeine session, but maybe a litre is not enough and that's why it doesnt potentiate the codeine much?? I would like to know from the rest of you guys if drinking 2 litres would potentiate codeine more? Or even 3 litres? I'm assuming that the more tonic water I drink the more CYP2D6 gets induced and the more it would then potentiate codeine by metabolising more into morphine, but I could be wrong about that?