Injecting - IV question

Discussion in 'Opiates & Opioids' started by buzz, Jul 11, 2005.

1. buzz

buzz Newbie

Reputation Points:
    the other day I tried shooting up for the first time and screwed up, it hurt like hell.[​IMG]

the question is how deep the needle goes ( inches) and how you make sure you´re in the vein

2. Motorhead

Motorhead Platinum Member & Advisor

Reputation Points:
    45 y/o from Canada
    Welcome to the forum buzz. First of all what were you trying to shoot? And im also wondering how exactly you screwed up? Judging from the question it sounds like you are having trouble finding a vein. What pain are u refering to, the needle sticking in or were you pushing while not in a vein? What im getting at is that when you post give some relavant information even if it is a question. Also using the search engine can answer many questions.

Ah well, im a sucker for newbie mainliners. Hate to see anyone get an abcess.The first answer is, not very far. Certainly not inches as the veins you are looking for are right under the skin. Here in Canada, with the metric system i prefer my darts with the 12.7mm long needle. Once you've prepared your arm and rig for shooting and determined your point of entry stick the needle in, with the eye upwards, at approximately 45 degree angle. You should first feel it pop the skin then pop the vein. If you havent penetrated the vein you will see it move and bulge to one side. Pull out and try again. Once you feel that you are in, you have to make sure. The answer to the second question is by flashing. Pull the plunger back and see if blood draws into the barrel. If you got blood you are ok. If not pull out and try again. This will all seem awkward and difficult at first, but with get easier with practice.