Cultivation - My first live Kratom plant! Advice and comments encouraged :)

Discussion in 'Kratom' started by selfdestruct85, Feb 3, 2012.

1. selfdestruct85

selfdestruct85 Silver Member

Reputation Points:
    from U.S.A.
    Hello all,

This is a Kratom plant I have been growing for about three months now. I ordered it back in the end of August and it took the company almost until the middle of October to receive it. As you can see these plants are highly in demand. She is growing surely but surely, slow speed aside, she seems to be a healthy beauty. I mist her several times daily with a spray bottle and she has her flourescent lighting on from bed time to wake time. The only problems I have had is with stupid fungus gnats. supposively they dont really damage grown plants, only seedlings, but they are still annoying so I am going to try the trick of refraining from watering for some days. Suppsoively will not kill the plant but will kill the gnat larvae. If not then I guess I will have to stop being a cheap ass and buy some gnatrol ;) THe potting soil used is miracle grow which is a good soil but apparently notorious for springing gnats. I also use miracle gro plant food every 2 weeks. The lighting is a simple bendable clamp light with a 100w equivalent flourescent bulb. It would prob ably grow faster with better light but I haven't been in a huge rush as it seems healthy. I also have Klip Dagga growing in the pot right next to it which seems to be doing good as well. I am considering cloning the kratom but have no experience with this at all. Has anyone tried it with Kratom yet? I'd love to know the details! Especially since seedlings are such a pain to get and I am sure could be easily made for sale through ones own collection. I am growing this because I have tried it in tea several times and figured it was time to make my own. I love the effects because they are in my opinion untouched by any other legal herb that I know of. Thanks for looking guys and every