Drug info - Psilocybin Mushrooms: Dry or Fresh Megathread

Discussion in 'Magic Mushrooms (Psilocybe & Amanita)' started by DaFuZzMaStA, Jul 20, 2004.

1. DaFuZzMaStA

DaFuZzMaStA Newbie

Reputation Points:
    I saw that you need to take 20-60 mushrooms of this certain type, then it only sais 1 gram if they are dry. So they are more potent when dry? (sorry im a noob at this)

How would I go about drying them?

2. Insane Asian

Insane Asian Silver Member

Reputation Points:
    there are drying kits its usually set on a wire type net then dried with a heating lamp or a really bright light. they are more potent dry and they can be stored longer

3. OneDiaDem

OneDiaDem Nefelibata Platinum Member

Reputation Points:
    from U.K.
    Drying removes water content, which lessons the bulk you must eat. They usually dry to 10% their weight. Dry muchrooms with a dehydrator with heat element disconnected, or with a fan, then use dessicant chamber to remove any leftover moisture. If they are not stored in a vaccum sealed bag, with a dessicant pak and kept in fridge, shelf life is short.

4. mycoguy

mycoguy Newbie

Reputation Points:
    37 y/o
    if anything....dry mushrooms LOSE potency. They surely dont gain potency.

Where'd you read that from? And what mushroom???

Was it one of Allen's books?

5. hacnslash

hacnslash Gold Member

Reputation Points:
    from U.S.A.
    OneDiaDem is right. They're not more potent but they lose water and so they're smaller yet the potency remains the same. So instead of 10 fresh grams you only eat 1 dry gram. If you dry them yourself you'll see you still eat about 20-60 mushrooms only they're much much much smaller.

6. Pinkavvy

Pinkavvy Platinum Member & Advisor

Reputation Points:
    from U.S.A.
    personally, I prefer dried. it's easier to dose, and less weight to eat.

7. D.U.M.B

D.U.M.B Gold Member

Reputation Points: