Ritalin help

Discussion in 'Concerta & Ritalin' started by mark_v, Apr 3, 2006.

1. mark_v

mark_v Newbie

Reputation Points:
    Rilatin help needed

I got 2 pills of 10 mg each.
    What's the best way to get the max. effect of this dosage ?
    And is 20 mg even enough to feel the effects of this drug ?
    And how long does it take to feel the effects ?
    And what to expect ?
    I have some experience with speed, but none with Ritalin.

2. Nagognog2

Nagognog2 Iridium Member

Reputation Points:
    20mg of methylphenidate, taken orally, is enough to cause euphoria, talkativeness, energy, and so forth quite similar to amphetamines. This presumes that the person has no tolerance from having been using amphetamines/meth recently. These do cause a cross-tolerance. The effects of ritalin tend to wear off more quickly than amphetamines, leaving the user feeling rather burned-out. Insomnia is also common after use.

3. mark_v

mark_v Newbie

Reputation Points:
    Ok, thanks a lot.
    Swim ate those 2 10 mg pills and the effects were kinda like speed, but more mild.
    After 2 hours I got a terrible headache and a hangover...
    No more rilatin for swim....

4. Forthesevenlakes

Forthesevenlakes Platinum Member

Reputation Points:
  5. jardo

jardo Silver Member

Reputation Points:
    from Canada
    When I first began my prescription on Ritalin I started taking 1 20mg SR twice daily (or every other day). Then a month later the dosage was up to 2 20mg SR taken twice daily.

The 1 20mg wasn't much at all, but it's definitely enough to feel the drug kick in. Your body gets a little hot and sweaty for 10-15 mins and then finally plateau's. Keep in mind this is the SRs I'm talking about. I never noticed a comedown or hangover.

I've been on the same prescription for about 3 yrs now, and until a few months ago I never noticed much of a tolerance to the drug. But nowadays, it takes about 120mg a day *just* to feel functional.