salvia divinorum Levels?

Discussion in 'Salvia divinorum' started by Cloud_Man, Jun 25, 2005.

  1. Cloud_Man

    Cloud_Man Newbie

    Reputation Points:
    Dec 28, 2004
    I keep seeing the mentioning of Salvia levels. Can someone explain all of this to me?
  2. scyrusurcys

    scyrusurcys Silver Member

    Reputation Points:
    Nov 19, 2004
    from U.S.A.
    smoking Salvia, you will begin to experience certain "stages", if you
    will. Starting with, of course, a slight disorientation and eventually
    moving up to higher, more intense stages. So here is the "S-A-L-V-I-A"
    Scale to go by:</font></span><br style="font-family: verdana,arial,helvetica,sans-serif;">

    Level - 1 "S</span>" stands for SUBTLE
    effects. A feeling that "something" is happening, although it is
    difficulty to say just what. Relaxation and increased sensual
    appreciation may be noted. This mild level is useful for meditation and
    may facilitate sexual pleasure.</font>

    Level - 2 "A</span>" stands for ALTERED
    perception. Colors and textures are more pronounced. Appreciation of
    music may be enhanced. Space may appear of greater or lesser depth than
    is usual. But visions do not occur at this level. Thinking becomes less
    logical, and more playful; short-term memory difficulties may be noted.</font>

    Level - 3 "L</span>" stands for LIGHT
    visionary state. Closed-eye visuals (clear imagery with eyes closed:
    fractal patterns, vine-like and geometric patterns, visions of objects
    and designs). The imagery is often two dimensional. If open-eyed visual
    effects occur, these are usually vague and fleeting. At this level,
    phenomena similar to the hypnagogic phenomena that some people
    experience at sleep onset occur. At this level, visions are experienced
    as "eye candy" but are not confused with reality.</font>

    Level - 4 "V</span>" stands for VIVID
    visionary state. Complex three-dimensional realistic appearing scenes
    occur. Sometimes voices may be heard. With eyes open, contact with
    consensual reality will not be entirely lost, but when you close your
    eyes you may forget about consensus reality and enter completely into a
    dreamlike scene. Shamanistic journeying to other lands--foreign or
    imaginary; encounters with beings (entities, spirits) or travels to
    other ages may occur. You may even live the life of another person. At
    this level you have entered the shaman's world. Or if you prefer: you
    are in "dream time." With eyes closed, you experience fantasies (dream
    like happenings with a story line to them). So long as your eyes are
    closed you may believe they are really occurring. This differs from the
    "eye candy" closed-eye imagery, of level 3.</font>

    Level - 5 "I</span>" stands for
    IMMATERIAL existence. At this level one may no longer be aware of
    having a body. Consciousness remains and some thought processes are
    still lucid, but one becomes completely involved in inner experience
    and looses all contact with consensual reality. Individuality may be
    lost; one experiences merging with God/dess, mind, universal
    consciousness, or bizarre fusions with other objects--real or imagined
    (e.g. experiences such as merging with a wall or piece of furniture).
    At this level it is impossible to function in consensual reality, but
    unfortunately some people do not remain still but move around in this
    befuddled state. For this reason a sitter is essential to ensure the
    safety of someone voyaging to these deep levels. To the person
    experiencing this the phenomenon may be terrifying or exceedingly
    pleasant; but to an outside observer the individual may appear confused
    or disoriented.</font>

    Level 6 - "A</span>" stands for AMNESIC
    effects. At this stage, either consciousness is lost, or at least one
    is unable to later recall what one had experienced. The individual may
    fall, or remain immobile or thrash around; somnambulistic behavior may
    occur. Injuries can be sustained without pain being felt; on awakening,
    the individual will have no recollection of what he/she did,
    experienced, or said in level 6. People cannot recall what they
    experience in this very deep trance state. This is not a desirable
    level, because nothing can latter be recalled of the experience.</font>
    Google this phrase: "Salvia User's Guide". Reading this guide will answer most (if not all) of your questions regarding Salvia.

    </span></font>Edited by: scyrusurcys
  3. prospero

    prospero Gold Member

    Reputation Points:
    Apr 25, 2005
    from U.K.
    I like that level guide, thoughI heard it with different titles for the same levels. ie


    Altered thought streams

    LSD type visuals


    Identity loss


    Cleverly it still spells 'SALVIA' using different words for the same things!Edited by: prospero
  4. dclacomb

    dclacomb Silver Member

    Reputation Points:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Acronyms are wonderful.[​IMG]