Opinions - SSRI's for insomnia?

Discussion in 'Antidepressants' started by dopenose77, Sep 5, 2005.

1. dopenose77

dopenose77 Newbie

Reputation Points:
    hey guys,

I'm a university student and have been dealing with insomnia as far back as I can remember. I've tried natural substances like valerian root and melatonin with little to no results. I've also been prescribed ambien andtemazepam several times. The prescription drugs work well, but as soon asthe bottles empty its back to long nights of no sleep. The last time i went to see the Doc at my uni's healthcenter for this he said if my insomnia didnt get any better he wanted to try putting me on SSRI's (anti-depressants).

I'm willing to try anything at this point but i'm very reluctant to enter the realm of anti-depressants because...

A) i dont actually suffer from depression

B) i've read lots of erowid horror stories (addiction/withdrawl, no libido/ability to reach orgasm, being content with life to the point where it's a problem.)

my question is, have any of you tried SSRI's for the sole purpose of curbing your insomnia? were u happy with the results?

2. sands of time

sands of time Gold Member

Reputation Points:
    I have not, I can tell you alittle about this. SSRIs stop the reuptake of serotonin, thus allowing more to remain in higher concentrations before being broken down. This, in itself, could bring about better sleep, and sometimes serotonin does help with sleep. Serotonin is converted to melatonin as well, which makes you drowsy. I don't know how SSRIs effect this process though.

If you want to try something that effects serotonin levels, I would recommend 5-HTP. This is the precurser substance for serotonin, so in the brain it is converted into serotonin. I would not recommend taking 5-HTP with SSRIs without first talking to your doctor. This combo could cause potential complications.

3. ~lostgurl~

~lostgurl~ Platinum Member & Advisor Donating Member

Reputation Points: